Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Flapping Terror: The Website that Gets Dangerous

/ / The Saint Canard Tribune \ \

"All the News That's Fit to... Well, You Know"


Flapping Terror Presents:

The BOOM! Studios Comic Review


Welcome, dear viewers, to Flapping Terror's official (spoiler-free!) reviews of the BOOM! Studios Darkwing Duck comic series! Directly below you will find the review for the first issue, with later issues heading towards the bottom; more will be added as time goes on. Enjoy, and do pick up a copy of the Darkwing comic today! Bug your local comic retailer to stock up! Keep the name Darkwing Duck alive!


Darkwing Duck #1: “The Duck Knight Returns” Part 1

Release Date: June 16, 2010

Writer: Ian Brill
Artist: James Silvani

Summary: It's one year after crimefighter Darkwing Duck's last caper. The city of Saint Canard is now run by a large conglomerate known as the Quackwerks Corporation. Darkwing's services as a vigilante are no longer needed, as the streets are now being patrolled by Quackwerks Crimebots. In an ironic twist of fate, Darkwing's alter-ego, Drake Mallard, is now under the employ of Quackwerks, and his life couldn't be anymore boring or unfulfilled. What will it take for Drake to consider donning the mask and cape again?

Review:

This issue had the big task of hooking two major audiences: (1.) kids of this generation who have never heard of the original Darkwing Duck TV show (because the 90's were ancient times, man!), and (2.) adults who were 90's kids and grew up on the show every day after school during the Disney Afternoon, especially the ones who loved Darkwing. So, did it do its job? And more importantly, did they do it right?

My answer to both is a resounding “yes!” Ian Brill's writing matches the unique wit and humor that set Darkwing Duck apart from most animated programs, as well as the heart and emotion that's signature to Disney animation. James Silvani's line art contains just enough cartoony squash-and-stretch to suit the nature of the characters without detracting from the actual look; and the backdrops of Saint Canard look exactly how they should. The characters we know and love are on-model and in-character. I feel like I'm reliving my childhood! And had I been born into this generation, and this alone was my starting point in getting into Darkwing Duck, I would want more just as much as I do now. Bravo, BOOM! Studios. Bravo!

Rating: ****/*****


Darkwing Duck #2: “The Duck Knight Returns” Part 2

Release Date: July 21, 2010

Writer: Ian Brill
Artist: James Silvani

Summary: The Fearsome Four - Quackerjack, Megavolt, Liquidator, and Bushroot - have reunited! With Quackerjack as leader, they start taking revenge on their bosses by using Quackerjack's toys to blow up Quackwerks warehouses. Meanwhile, Darkwing Duck does some investigative work on the Quackwerks corporation by trying to find out who founded it. Honker ends up in further trouble. And Gosalyn goes looking for a certain someone to help out her dad...

Review:

Just like in the previous issue, Ian Brill's writing and James Silvani's artwork make for an amazing combo! Now that the action's really gotten going, however, this combo shines more brilliantly than ever. I was laughing and cheering out loud at almost every page! The gags were great, and the more serious parts were executed well.

The colorist, Andrew Dalhouse, has done amazing work as well, just like the last issue. My only complaint with Dalhouse is that the panels that take place in normal light settings have made duck beaks too bright, and Darkwing's coat buttons too orange. However, this can be easily overlooked, and is therefore forgivable.

Quackerjack really steals the spotlight in this issue. His characterization is noticeably different than in the cartoon, as he's more scary than he is wacky, but it's done so brilliantly that it's very enjoyable; it feels like a whole new side to Quackerjack rather than a complete reboot of his original personality. It has a Heath Ledger's Joker quality to it. I even said to myself, "Man, he's got problems! I love it!"

This issue is totally boss, and I eagerly await the next one! Go, BOOM!, go!

Rating: *****/*****


Darkwing Duck #3: “The Duck Knight Returns” Part 3

Release Date: August 18, 2010

Writer: Ian Brill
Artist: James Silvani

Summary: After being reunited with Launchpad, Gosalyn helps to clear the air between them after we find out what caused their split in the first place. She also helps Darkwing rediscover his purpose as a crimefighter, just in time for an air chase against the Fearsome Four. However, all seven are soon captured by Quackwerks Crimebots. We also finally find out who the founder of Quackwerks is. Who is it? And where does Honker fit into all this?

Review:

A lot of questions from the first two issues are finally answered in this one. However, new ones are also raised, leaving a lot of anticipation for the next issue. The big reveal at the end will make oldschool Darkwing fans cheer, while newbies will be very intrigued by what they see. Either way, they'll be left on the edges of their seats.

I only have a few minor complaints about this issue. The first is that there are two coloring mistakes, both involving Launchpad, on two separate pages. The second is this: while others may find the big reveal at the end exciting – and believe me, I was excited too – I was left feeling that I sort of saw it coming. Of course, that feeling didn't arise until I saw just how big an interest the Quackwerks CEO had in Darkwing. Maybe it's just because I have too big a sense of analysis when it comes to the Darkwing series, and so I made my prediction. My third complaint? I was a bit let down when I found out just what exactly made Quackerjack snap. I thought it would be something deeper than that. Then again, there's nothing too deep about the guy in the first place, and at least he was being kept in character.

My advice to readers out there, however, is to not take my complaints about the issue too seriously. They're very, very nitpicky, and they come from a hardcore Darkwing fan. Just read the issue first and judge for yourself. This issue is very enjoyable and exciting on the whole, and it's very likely that you won't be disappointed. Once again, BOOM! Studios, you've done us Darkwing fans proud.

Rating: ****/*****


Darkwing Duck #4: “The Duck Knight Returns” Part 4

Release Date: September 22, 2010

Writer: Ian Brill
Artist: James Silvani

Summary:

An epic showdown ensues between Darkwing and the head of Quackwerks, with help from Launchpad, Gosalyn, and – surprisingly – the Fearsome Four! We also finally find out what was in the metal box Honker was being used to open. Can Darkwing conquer evil once more and put an end to the tyranny of Quackwerks? And who is Gosmoduck?

Review:

As much as I loved this issue, I have a few problems with it. For starters, how did (insert name of the head of Quackwerks here) end up becoming an electronic entity in the first place? What's the “uncharacteristic mishap” they were referring to? Also, why does Bushroot look so... furry, for lack of a better word? And the irises of his eyes aren't supposed to be green; they're blue! And his position at Quackwerks wasn't clearly defined, either.

Aside from those things, this issue is fantastic. The crossover that occurs in here is done brilliantly, there are emotionally gripping moments, and the plot is brought to a rather neat close. The surprise at the end is truly a shocker, and really makes you anticipate the next story arc! I'm afraid I can't say anymore because I would give too much away. All I can tell you is, you've gotta get your hands on this one!

Rating: ****/*****


Darkwing Duck #5: “Crisis of Infinite Darkwings” Part 1

Release Date: October 20, 2010

Writer: Ian Brill
Artist: James Silvani

Summary: With Saint Canard freshly freed from the tyranny of Quackwerks and its Crimebots, Darkwing's return to crime-fighting is welcomed by Saint Canard with open arms. However, a new alliance between Negaduck and Magica DeSpell threatens to ruin our mighty masked mallard's reputation. Also, Darkwing reunites with his beloved, Morgana, for the first time since Quackwerks took over... and something isn't quite right with her.

Review:

I love this issue so much I could just die!

First of all, the dynamic between Negaduck and Magica is absolutely fantastic. They really do sound the way they would on their respective shows, and this issue makes me seriously wonder why they haven't teamed up before. Their plan is pretty genius too, even in all its simplicity. But I'm seriously scratching my head here because I really want to know where Negaduck got that train from!

Darkwing's reasoning about having to work harder to protect Saint Canard is very well thought out, and his whole speech about it to Launchpad is very well-written. I applaud Ian Brill most heartily. I'm also astounded at how well Darkwing and Morgana interact with each other even with all the the drama that has gone on. No turning anyone into a slug here, folks! Just pure, true love. Aww!

I'm also psyched about all the different Darkwings that are appearing. Looking at Cover A of this issue, it seems Darkwarrior Duck may be making an appearance in the future. I can't wait for that to happen, and I eagerly anticipate when it will. For now, I'm laughing at all the sillier Darkwings that are appearing, and wonder just how many others will appear.

Bottom line: GET THIS ISSUE NOW. THIS ARC IS AWESOME.

Rating: *****/*****


Darkwing Duck #6: “Crisis of Infinite Darkwings” Part 2

Release Date: November 17, 2010

Writer: Ian Brill
Artist: James Silvani

Summary: Darkwing Duck has been named public enemy number one! Not only that, but he's become the city's scapegoat, getting blamed for everything, including the city's water going wacky! Meanwhile, Negaduck and Magica continue with their plans, bringing about disastrous results for Saint Canard. Can Darkwing successfully clear his name? What's going on with the city's water? And how many Darkwings can you name on that two-page spread?!

Review:

This issue is amazing. The writing continues to blow me away, and the art is as great as always. Serious comic readers and hardcore Darkwing fans will appreciate how intricate the plot is growing. Those who have watched the show will also get nostalgia-bombed hard from this one. My only real complaint is that they colored Herb Muddlefoot incorrectly. Other than that, this arc continues to be an epic boatload of awesome, and I'm dying for the next issue!!

Rating: *****/*****


Darkwing Duck #7: “Crisis of Infinite Darkwings” Part 3

Release Date: December 15, 2010

Writer: Ian Brill
Artist: James Silvani

Summary: While the Crimebots (now known as the Hero Bots) and Launchpad attempt to take on the waves of interdimensional Darkwings, the Darkwing we know and love tries to figure out who his doppelgangers are working for. When he and Morgana determine that Negaduck and Magica are behind everything, Gosmoduck joins them to engage in what should be the final fight... and we also find out who is behind the city's water supply going crazy!

Review:

Where do I begin? There are monster movie references, Disney character cameos, a surprisingly dark flashback that's just ripe for fanfiction material, and a big reveal at the end that will shock and amaze you. Plus, the interactions between Darkwing and Morgana, and how Morgana makes herself useful, surprise me. I'm normally not a Morgana fan, but this issue is making me like her a lot more. Magica also surprised me, acting more badass than usual! Ian Brill, you're amazing. And James Silvani, the art rocked my socks as usual, so kudos to you too. I love you guys! Keep up the good work! And to you Darkwing fans-- run out and get this issue ASAP! You won't regret it!

Rating: *****/*****


Darkwing Duck #8: “Crisis of Infinite Darkwings” Part 4

Release Date: January 19, 2011

Writer: Ian Brill

Artist: James Silvani

Summary: Quiverwing Duck, now free of Magica's hypnosis, starts to make up for the damage he's caused by helping Darkwing. Magica loses control over the other interdimensional Darkwings, and Paddywhack enters the picture to wreak havoc. And as for Negaduck? Well... you're not gonna believe what happens to him! Can all the interdimensional Darkwings pull together and save the day? And how will Paddywhack be stopped?

Review:

Um... I hate to say this, but... I was sort of let down by this issue. It was anti-climactic. Sure, it had some funny jokes, the interdimensional Darkwings continued to be hilarious, Quiverwing Duck is phenomenal, and the return of the Tron-Splitter is absolutely amazing. But seeing how little Paddywhack accomplishes when he arrives so late into the story is truly a letdown. He had so much more potential to cause chaos, and yet he does so little to lend to the plot. And you'd think he'd have a more traumatic effect on Negaduck... then again, we don't get to see much of Negaduck's normal self after the issue's halfway point, so maybe there's no telling how bad an effect Paddywhack had. And we might not know for a very long time, considering Negsy's fate. Mind you, this issue isn't bad at all. It's very good, and it opens many, MANY new story arc opportunities. But, like I said, Paddywhack turned out to be a somewhat useless element to the story, even if including him ties up a loose end from a past TV episode. I'm being slightly generous with my rating, however, because overall the comic is high quality, and I doubt many will have the same problem with this issue as me.

Rating: ****/*****


Darkwing Duck #9: “F.O.W.L. Disposition” Part 1

Release Date: February 16, 2011

Writer: Ian Brill
Artist: James Silvani

Summary: Launchpad and Darkwing have a meeting with ad man Duck Draper to see about boosting Darkwing's now very low image. Later on, Darkwing bumps into an old nemesis-- Steelbeak! He tells Darkwing that F.O.W.L. High Command has turned to the occult to take control of the world, by summoning the elder god Duckthulu! Can Darkwing trust him? And where did Steelbeak get that awesome car?!

Review:

A nice start to a brand new story arc. The dynamic between Steelbeak and Darkwing is very interesting, especially since we get to see a side to Steelbeak we've never seen before: his good side! (At least, we can hope it's his good side, and that he's not pulling a “triple-cross.”) I find it incredible that these two can be on the same wavelength when they're partnered up. Also, seeing a certain other hero return makes me very happy indeed. As for my hang-ups about this issue? I see that Darkwing has fallen back into his old routine of wording things badly towards Morgana, and while that is in-character for him, it's annoying as always (especially for Morgana; I'm surprised she didn't lose her temper!). And one of the covers available for this issue shows Darkwing in a different costume, one that we don't see anywhere in the book. But the former does nothing to the quality of the issue, and the latter is a minor annoyance at best. This arc seems very promising, and I'm excited about what's going to happen next!

Rating: ****/*****


/ / BACK \ \


Darkwing Duck and all related characters and elements are copyright Walt Disney Pictures and Buena Vista Animation, 1991-1995. Used without permission, for entertainment and informational purposes only. Flapping Terror is property of Melissa M., 2002 - 2010. Everything else belongs to their respective companies and persons. Thank you.